Published 9 March 2017
So, this is odd. Diet Pepsi is confirmed to be a non-vegan drink – but PepsiCo, the corporation behind the brand, are refusing to reveal what’s actually in it to make it so. Hmmm.
For some reason, the soft drink giants are keeping quiet on the animal ingredient that Diet Pepsi must contain, which leaves it unsuitable for anyone following a vegan diet to consume.
The company has been bombarded with repeated requests from concerned customers to reveal what exactly is in the drink, with some people majorly concerned that it could be damaging to their moral stance, religious believes or health allergies.
When asked for comment by Metro, a spokeswoman for PepsiCo confirmed that the brand wouldn’t be revealing any part of their ‘recipe’, because it’s considered to be ‘commercially sensitive information’.
Fair enough (the colonel ain’t revealing those 11 secret herbs and spices either), but even when specifically asked to clarify just what the non-vegan elements are, PepsiCo were still having none of it. So that’s kind of weird.
In a pre-prepared statement later given to Metro, the company said: ‘We can confirm that regular Pepsi and Pepsi MAX are suitable for vegetarians and vegans. Diet Pepsi is only suitable for vegetarians as it contain traces of ingredients that are not suitable for people following a vegan diet.’
Previously, vegan bloggers have dived head first into the soft drink industry to do their own investigations, and found that a number of popular soft drinks and flavoured ciders contain fish gelatine (non-veggie), beef gelatine (non-veggie and prohibited by Hindus), and pork gelatine (non-veggie and forbidden for Muslims and Jewish people).
MMMM, unspecified animal by-product ingredients. Refreshing.
Biggest analysis to date reveals huge footprint of livestock - it provides just 18% of calories but takes up 83% of farmland.
Vegan makeup artist Kat Von D is set to launch a special 10th Anniversary Collection through her brand, Kat Von D Beauty.
Ice cream brand Ben & Jerry’s added two new non-dairy flavours today to its growing line of vegan options: Peanut Butter Half Baked and Cinnamon Buns!
Valentine’s Day is just around the corner, so we have come up with the ultimate list of 20 Vegan Valentine’s recipes that will absolutely wow your loved one. From savoury nibbles to decadent sweets for your sweet, we have all your Valentine’s needs covered.
Acting Sergeant Brendan Whitefield said the semi-trailer was fully loaded with "thousands and thousands" of chickens.
Animal farming is remorselessly destroying our planet.